RSS

Quick and Easy Mild Low-Fat Pesto

03 Aug

This is a nut-free, dairy-free, low-fat, mild pesto.

I’m not a fan of basil, so I use basil paste. Fresh basil is too strong for me. I also don’t eat nuts, so my recipe does not include pine nuts. I’ve never understood why people add a lot of oil or cheese to pesto.

I keep garlic and basil paste on hand at all times because I like to make fresh pesto quickly.

Ingredients

  • 1 tsp basil paste
  • 1 tsp garlic paste
  • 1/2 tsp lemon juice
  • 1/2 tsp olive oil
  • 1 c parsley, loosely packed

If using a food processor: Tear off 1 cup of parsley leaves and places them in a food processor. Add the basil paste, garlic paste, lemon juice, and oil. Pulse for 5-7 seconds or until all ingredients are well blended and the parsley leaves are chopped.

If mixing by hand: Tear off 1 cup of parsley leaves and finely chop them. Place the parsley in a small bowl. Add the basil paste, garlic paste, lemon juice, and oil. Mix thoroughly.

Recipe created by Me : D

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 3, 2013 in Gluten Free, Sauce

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
